Coaching and our Coaches

Better Rugby Coaching

Please follow the following link to access a wealth of Rugby Coaching information: betterrugbycoaching.com

Rucking Ball Rugby Development

Please follow the following link to access an exciting new Rugby Coaching website called Ruckingball: Rugby Development

CRB Checks and Coaching Courses

Northern FC has over 30 RFU qualified coaches and each age group is headed by a lead coach supported by other qualified coaches. In accordance with the RFU Continuum, U7’s and U8’s play non contact Tag rugby followed by a gradual structural development until U13’s when they begin the full 15 a side game. Matches are arranged with local clubs and touring sides throughout the season.

If anyone is interested in coaching they should speak to their age group coach. There are a number of RFU run coaching sessions, details of which are available on both the Northern and RFU Websites. It is strongly advisable that you attend a course if you are interested in being involved. It is also necessary for you to be CRB checked, which can be arranged through the club. Finally, please remember that when you coach at Northern FC you coach all the children and not just your child.

All coaches must be CRB (Criminal Records Bureau) checked and the RFU policy is that this must be renewed every 3 years. Regardless of whether you have been checked by any other organisation you must have an RFU check at Northern. Please contact Mark Reavley for further information ( mreavley@blueyonder.co.uk ) or 07841 435560.

Throughout the season the RFU run a range of coaching and refereeing courses which are available to all of our coaches, details of which are circulated when announced. The current seasons proposed coaching sessions can be found at here

For further information or advice please do not hesitate to contact your relevant age group coach

Gavin Thomson
Under 6’s  & 7’s
gavin.thomson@northernminis.com
Sean May
Under 8’s
sean.may@northernminis.com
Ian Ramshaw
Under 9’s
ian.ramshaw@northernminis.com
Nigel Emmerson
Under 10’s
nigel.emmerson@northernminis.com
Steve Douglas
Under 11’s
steve.douglas@northernminis.com
Paul Varley
Under 12’s
paul.varley@northernminis.com
Tim Peach
Under 13’s
tim@northernminis.com
John Williamson
Under 14’s
john.williamson@northernminis.com
Hugh Wick
Under 15’s
hugh@northernminis.com